Betfair Politics – Jo Swinson 4/9 to become first female leader of the Liberal Democrats

Opening its ‘Next Liberal Democrat Leader’ market, following the unexpected resignation of Tim Farron this Wednesday, Betfair Politics has placed Jo Swinson MP for East Dunbartonshire as 4/9 early market favourite.

Tim Farron resigned on Wednesday night, less than a week following the results of the 2017 UK Snap General Election in which the Lib Dems increased their Parliamentary representation to 12 seats.

Farron stated that well-documented media clashes concerning his faith and politics had distracted from his party’s election campaigning, thus forcing him to resign as leader.

The party has detailed that Farron will serve as its leader until Parliamentary Recess (20 July), with the next incumbent expected to be announced by September’s Parliament opening.

Should the Lib Dems appoint Swinson, she would become the first female leader in the party’s 80-year history. Betfair Politics currently prices party stalwart Vince Cable as 4/1 second favourite, alongside Norman Lamb MP for North Norfolk.

Katie Baylis – Betfair

Betfair Politics Spokesperson, Katie Baylis commented on the market: “After winning back her Dunbartonshire East seat last week, Jo Swinson was tipped to become deputy leader of the Lib Dems, but Tim Farron’s shock resignation has seen her go straight in as favourite for the top job in the party.

“Despite high hopes for a big Lib Dem comeback in the Election, they didn’t do nearly as well as they would have liked, with Farron himself enduring a difficult campaign. You would imagine they will be looking for a fresh new approach, which could be why Swinson leads the betting ahead of older-hands such as Vince Cable and Norman Lamb.”


Betfair Odds:

Next Liberal Democrat Leader

  • Jo Swinson 4/9
  • Vince Cable 4/1
  • Norman Lamb 4/1
  • Ed Davey 11/1
  • Alistair Carmichael 20/1
  • Layla Moran 20/1
  • Tom Brake 25/1
  • Kirsty Williams 25/1
  • Mark Williams 25/1
  • Wera Hobhouse 33/1
  • Willie Rennie 33/1
  • Christine Jardine 33/1
  • Jamie Stone 33/1
  • Greg Mulholland 50/1
  • Stephen Lloyd 50/1
  • Simon Hughes 50/1
  • David Laws 66/1
  • Nick Clegg 66/1

Check Also

Flutter eyes Italian podium place with €1.9bn takeover of SISAL

Flutter Entertainment Plc has this morning announced that it has secured definitive terms to acquire …

Smarkets: North Shropshire shock sees odds spike on a Boris 2022 exit  

Last night’s surprise victory by the Liberal Democrats in the Conservative stronghold of North Shropshire …

Winning Post: Better Informed but None the Wiser…

Regulus Partners reviews the keynote speeches of DCMS under-secretary Chris Philip and UKGC Interim CEO …