Hall of Fame

SBC Sports Betting Hall of Fame prepares to welcome three new members

Sportradar Founder and CEO Carsten Koerl, Sportingbet Founder Mark Blandford and Howard Chisholm, Managing Director of Chisholm Bookmakers, will be joined by three new Hall of Fame inductees at this year’s SBC Awards on Tuesday 5 December.

The fourth edition of this event, designed to recognise excellence across the sports betting industry, is being held at the stunning Artillery Garden at the HAC in Central London.

The SBC Sports Betting Hall of Fame was launched at last year’s SBC Awards to acknowledge outstanding individual achievements within the industry. Koerl, Blandford and Chisholm were recognised for playing a prominent role in the public’s awareness and appreciation of sports betting, while displaying innovation either by improving an industry process or bringing a new product to market.

Since 2001, Koerl has overseen Sportradar’s growth into a global leader for delivering data. Prior to founding the company, which operates successful sports betting subsidiary Betradar, he led bwin through a successful public listing on the Vienna stock market.

Mark Blandford is now a venture capital investor and the Chairman for sportsbook solution provider FSB Technology. However, he made his name in the industry by founding Sportingbet in 1997, a successful online gambling operator now owned by GVC Holdings.

Meanwhile, Howard Chisholm has grown the family bookmaking business from 10 shops to 47 in the North East of England. He is also one of the founders and a director of the Bookmakers Technology Consortium (BTC), a not-for-profit cooperative which represents 50 companies and over 500 shops.

Blandford said: “Given that so many elements of the sports betting value chain come into consideration for this awards ceremony, I was extremely humbled to be recognised for my contribution to the industry. I am looking forward to welcoming the newest additions to the SBC Sports Betting Hall of Fame and celebrating with the prize winners for 2017.”

  • For more information on the SBC Sports Betting Hall of Fame, click HERE.

In addition to inducting three new Hall of Fame members, the #sbcawards2017 has been expanded to recognise excellence across all areas of sports betting in 2017, with 28 prizes split into 11 Operator/Affiliate awards and 17 Supplier awards. For a full list of the nominated companies in each category, click HERE.

Presenting the Christmas themed end of year celebration will be former Sky Sports presenter Matt Lorenzo and Luis Garcia, a UEFA Champions League winner with Liverpool in 2004/05 who now serves as an official ambassador for the Anfield based club.

  • Anyone wishing to book a table to celebrate an outstanding year for the sports betting industry, email sales@sbcnews.co.uk for more information.

Check Also

Cheltenham - Copyright: argus456 / 123RF Stock Photo

SG Digital passes Cheltenham Festival test with flying colours

SG Digital, the interactive division of Scientific Games, has published its trading data from last week’s …

Bundesrat moves forward on complex German licensing framework

Germany’s sixteen federal states have approved the mandate of the ‘third amended Interstate Treaty on …

Trio charged over illegal Premier League streaming service

Three operators of a pirate streaming organisation have been issued with a 17-year jail sentence, …